Volume 1 Prize Winner

Quarterly Prize

Volume 1

June 2014

Judges:  Nelson Pyles,  Kelly Phillips,  John Graham


There were 17 comics under consideration for the award in Volume 1.  Each were evaluated on up to 13 different criteria by three judges active in the Independent and Self-Publishing community who kindly agreed to volunteer their services for this contest.   The judges for Volume 1 were Nelson Pyles (author currently with Post Mortem Press), John Graham (Producer of INDYpendent Con), and Kelly Phillips (editor/publisher of Dirty Diamonds Comic Anthology). The names of the contestants were removed from each comic for the consideration of the judges. Contestants were not aware of the identity of the judges until after scoring was completed. Judges provided a score based on a ten-point scale on up to 13 different categories (depending on applicability). The scores that each of the three judges gave were then averaged under each category.   The average of all applicable categories was taken in order to create the composite score for each comic. The composite scores were then ranked to determine the winner of this volume.

First Place Winner:
$350 Cash Award 

The Long Sleep

by Marta Tanrikulu, illustrated by Silvio dB and Lettered by E.T. Dollman

The Long SleepThe Long Sleep Score

Runner Up:

The Organist

by Michael Tuck

The Organist

The Organist Score


This isn’t the last you’ve seen of either of them.


Both the first place and runner up winner of this volume will be included for consideration in the annual 2014 grand prize award. They will compete along with the winners from Indie Comics Quarterly Volumes 2-4 and the winners from Indie Ladies Comic Anthology Volume 3 for a chance to win $1,000.

There will be a component of reader voting to determine the grand prize winner. Visit our website in early 2015 to learn more about how you can participate in grand prize contest.